When you have multiple workspaces in Expiration Reminder, expirations, categories, contacts, locations, equipments, etc. are all separated between workspaces.
In some cases, you might need to share categories because they're the same in all workspaces. For this case, you can share the category.
To share the category, look for the category and edit it. On the Advanced tab, tick the Share with other workspaces checkbox.